Maintenance of Certification Part IV

Charlotte AHEC was approved in late 2013 to be a Multi-Specialty MOC Part IV Portfolio Sponsor supported by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS). Charlotte AHEC can award physicians MOC Part IV credit across 18 ABMS specialties for meaningful participation in Practice Improvement Projects. Charlotte AHEC is one of few nationally to offer this service to all providers, and it is purposefully structured to provide the education, strategy and support to providers as they work, in alignment with Board reported Quality metrics, to improve patient outcomes.

Charlotte AHEC is working with the American Board of Medical Specialties Portfolio Program™ (ABMS Portfolio Program) to sponsor activities that promote our quality and safety improvement aims while helping you earn continuing certification (MOC) credit from a participating ABMS Member Board or from the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA). Charlotte AHEC participation in the ABMS Portfolio Program recognizes activities designed to improve your practice and the care of your patients.

You may select from curated, approved activities that our organization is implementing, or develop your own activities and submit them to our Project Manager for approval. Activities can be large in scale to address systemic and clinical issues or smaller activities to improve a specific area of practice. We provide a simple and unified process for earning your CME or MOC credit. We are able to offer, not only MOC Part IV credit, but AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™, CEU credit, and CME for MIPs.

Board Specific Credit

The table below shows what each Member Board awards to a physician who completes an approved activity through a sponsor organization.

ABMS Member Board Participation and Recognition for MOC Part IV

Anesthesiology Traditional MOCA: 1 Part IV Case Evaluation
MOCA 2.0: Up to 20 Part IV Points for Participants
MOCA 2.0: Up to 25 Part IV Points for Leaders
Dermatology 1 Part IV practice assessment QI module
Emergency Medicine 1 patient care practice improvement activity
Family Medicine 20 points depending on certification year
Internal Medicine 30 Practice Assessment points
Medical Genetics and Genomics 1 Improvement in Medical/Professional Practice (Part IV) activity
Obstetrics and Gynecology 1 Part IV assignment (max allowed per calendar year)
Ophthalmology 1 practice performance module
Otolaryngology 1 performance improvement module
Pathology 1 Part IV activity
Pediatrics 25 Part IV Points
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation 1 practice improvement project
Preventive Medicine 1 MOC Part IV activity
Psychiatry and Neurology 1 Improvement in Medical Practice (PIP) Clinical Module
Radiology 1 Practice Quality Improvement (PQI) project
Surgery 1 quality assessment program or participation in a national, regional, or local outcomes database
Thoracic Surgery 1 activity or quality assessment program
Urology 1 MOC-PS activity
NCCPA As will be awarded 30 PI-CME credits. NCCPA then doubles the first 20 PI-CME credits earned for each PA per CME logging cycle.