Click on the discipline for more information.
If you are new to North Carolina, you are probably learning that there is a difference between a Dental Assistant I (DA I) and a Dental Assistant II (DA II) in this state. Your employer may ask that you become a DA II in order to perform certain tasks in your dental office, as well as for a potential pay increase.
Per the North Carolina State Board of Dental Examiners, there are prerequisites to becoming a DA II. You can learn more about these prerequisites on their Web site.
Please note that the Dental Board does not certify a Dental Assistant II. There is no certification for DA IIs. Instead, keep records of your fulfilled prerequisites the Dental Board requires to be classified a Dental Assistant II. You can use these records as documentation for your employer that you are classified a DA II under the state's requirements.
The North Carolina State Board of Dental Examiners answers your questions about dental assisting, including: the classification of Dental Assistants in North Carolina, their delegable functions, radiography requirements, etc.
Charlotte AHEC is here to help make your transition to a DA II as seamless and simple as possible, as we offer some of the programs that the State Board requires for this classification. After reading about the State Board's prerequisites, please read the helpful hints below:
If you don't meet any of the above requirements you might still be classified as a DAII if you fulfill the following:
Charlotte AHEC offers courses in Sterilization and Infection Control and Dental Office Medical Emergencies that are 6 hours each.
Please note that if you have had radiology training consistent with North Carolina by-laws, you must be able to document 14 hours of training – 7 hours clinical and 7 hours instructional. If you meet these criteria, you may take the Radiology Equivalency Exam. After successful completion of the Equivalency Exam, you may perform radiographs in the State of North Carolina.
You can arrange to take the Equivalency Exam by contacting Susan Walker at 704.512.6516. Please allow 6-8 weeks to complete the exam (study, proctored written exam and clinical).